Governors and Staff






Mr Alastair S Cook, BEd (Hons) FRGS Headmaster
Mrs Phillippa Cook, RGN Staff & Pupil Well-Being
Miss Georgie Hulburd, BA (Hons)  Headmaster's PA
Mrs Katherine Cox, BA (Hons) PGCE  Registrar 
Miss Emily Lister, BA (Hons) Marketing and Registry Assistant 

Mrs Pam Hill  School Secretary 
Mr Andrew McKay, MA PGCE, MA Cantab Deputy Head & Maths Co-ordinator
Mrs Alexandra Sigley, BA (Hons) PGCE Head of Pre-Prep, Year 2 
Boarding House Staff
Mr Brian Richardson, BA (Hons) GTP  Boarding House Parent & Maths
Mrs Linda Richardson, BA (Hons) GTP  Boarding House Parent, RS & English
Mrs Mandy James  Head Matron
Mrs Teresa Smith  Matron 
Teaching Staff 
Mrs Claire Arnold, BSc (Hons)  Year 2
Mrs Kay Bedwell, BA (Hons) PGCE English 
Mrs Jill Brierly, BA PGCE  PE, Games & Maths
Mrs Meg Brighton, BSocSci PGCE Year 5 & i/c Girls' Sport
Mrs Anna Carmichael, BEd  Design & Technology Co-ordinator 
Mrs Kirsty Cooke, LL.B (Hons) English 
Mr Adam Dixon, BA (Hons) PGCE  Year 3 

Mrs Sarah Grant, BSc (Hons)





Mr Phill Griffiths, BA (Hons) PGCE PE, Games 
Mrs Faye Hardinges, BA (Hons) PGCE Year 1 
Mrs Rachael Harvey BA (Hons) Year 5
Miss Abigail Hooper, BSc (Hons) PGCE Co-ordinator of Girls' Games 
Mrs Sarah Hutchins, BSc (Hons), Dip Tchg ECE Head of Early Years Foundation Stage, Nursery
Mrs Lesley Hunter, ABSM GBSM PGCE  Music Co-ordinator 
Mrs Stephanie Ingram, Licence-ès-Lettres Modern Foreign Languages Co-ordinator 
Mr Jonathan Lamberton, BA (Hons) PGCE Year 4
Mrs Kathryn Lewis, MA (Hons) PGCE Latin 
Mrs Jane Lloyd, BA (Ed) Hons Science
Mr Simon Mellor, BA (Hons) PGCE  Art Co-ordinator 
Miss Olivia Powell, BSc (Hons) PGCE Maths, PE

Mrs Sarah Prasad, BSc (Hons) PGCE, MA Ed  Year 3 
Mrs Kate Reid, BA (Hons) PGCE Head of English 
Mrs Rebecca Shardlow, B Ed Hons Year 2
Miss Chloe Stanbridge, BA (Hons)  Year 5 
Mrs Stephanie Starkey, BA (Hons) Middle School Co-ordintator, Year 4 
Mr Michael Strong, BA/BSc (QTS)  Geography & Head of Sport
Mr Steven Thomas, BSc (Hons) PGCE Science Co-ordinator
Mr Nicholas Vaughan, BA (Hons) PGCE Year 5 
Mrs Charlotte Watts, BSc (Hons) PGCE Reception, RS 
Learning Support
Mrs Vanessa Whitehead, BEd (Hons) SpLD Cert Levels 5 & 7 SENcO
Mrs Louise Smith, MA (Oxon), PGCE, OCR SpLD Cert Level 5 Learning Support 
Mrs Ruth Wharton, BEd (Hons) EAL
Classroom Assistants
Mrs Ginny Howell  
Mrs Renata Palmer  
Mrs Susan Newton Librarian
Visiting Teachers
Mrs Rebecca Brown Singing
Ms Victoria Brawn Oboe & Bassoon
Mrs Jane Green Clarinet
Mrs Rosie Harrington Piano
Mrs Pippa Henry Speech and Drama 
Mr Colin Herbert Classical Guitar
Mrs Janet Hiles Orchestral Percussion and Drum Kit
Mrs Susan Hill Violin and Viola
Mrs Lesley Hunter Piano and Theory
Mr Steve Lee Trumpet and Brass
Mrs Jo Levett Piano and General Musicianship (EYFS)
Mr Bob Locke Guitar
Mr Iain Willox Bagpipes
Miss Helen O'Connell Flute
Miss Susan Sneath Saxophone
Mr James Topp French Horn & Brass

Mrs Suzanne Walden








The Board of Governors

Revd Ken Madden (Chair of Governors)

With nearly 30 years of experience as a Headmaster of a leading Prep boarding school in Kenya, and two UK Prep schools, Revd Madden is a highly qualified and experienced Chair of Governors. He is also an active member of the Malvern College Council and Malvern College Management Committee. Revd Madden was ordained in 2009 and has been an Associate Priest at St Michael’s Without, Bath, since 2013. His interests include all sports, music, family history, First World War.

Carey Leonard

An international banker with over 40 years’ experience in Asia, Africa, and the Middle East, Carey is a non-executive director in the City of London. A Governor since 2010, he Chairs the Commercial Committee, is a member of the Welfare Committee and Malvern College’s Audit Committee. His connection with the school dates to 2001, when one of his children joined Hillstone, a predecessor school. Mr Leonard is also a Magistrate on the Worcestershire Bench. He is a keen golfer, his interests include most sports, the theatre and travel.

Darren Morris

Mr Morris is a parent governor with two young boys at the school. As a corporate banker, he brings over 20 years’ experience in advising businesses at all levels of operation in the UK and overseas. His interests revolve around sport – playing golf, following rugby, and supporting his boys in various school and local teams.

Syd Hill

Syd Hill is a former Headmaster of a leading Prep School and has also been a Housemaster of Malvern College. As well as being a Governor at The Downs Malvern, he is a member of the Malvern College Council and the Management Board. He was Master in Charge of Football at the College for nearly a decade and is the Hon. Treasurer of the Independent Schools Football Association.

Sarah Guy

Sarah Guy is a past fellow of Trinity College Cambridge and had over 20 years’ experience as a research scientist in academia and with RSRE/DERA/QinetiQ before taking a PGCE and teaching secondary Science/Chemistry in local independent schools. Her son is a former pupil at The Downs Malvern and she also has three grown-up daughters and one granddaughter. She is a youth leader at Great Malvern Priory and her other interests include music, the theatre and spending time with her family.

Chris Le Bas

Chris Le Bas was educated at Malvern College and spent 34 years in the RAF during which he held a wide range of interesting and challenging appointments. Following a fulfilling flying career, and advanced staff training in the USA, he gained extensive international experience in NATO posts in Europe, with British liaison staff in Washington DC and as a Defence Attaché in Singapore and Brunei. His hobbies are photography and DIY and he is a keen skier and enthusiastic golfer.